The Four Elements

by Stefantastic

The Four Elements (as a metaphysical concept)

The Four Elements (as a metaphysical concept)

The tangible, physical reality we are surrounded by is known to be composed of well over a hundred chemical elements and numerous mixtures thereof. The higher, spiritual planes however are subject to slightly different rules and are believed to be in balance through the agency of four (somewhat opposed) elements - those of Fire, Water, Air and Earth. Now widely used in Hermeticist teachings, astrology and tarot, they were first defined by philosophers and mystics of Ancient Greece. The energy of each element carries with it a unique set of positive as well as negative influences and affects our lives and our inner being in different ways.

Fire denotes strong will and energy, and a more masculine disposition. The astrological signs under its rule - Aries, Leo and Sagittarius - all tend to possess a choleric temperament, being decisive and vigorous, uncommonly brave and assertive but also excessively passionate and quarrelsome. It is an element at once creative and destructive, igniting the spark of life but well capable of turning everything before it into ashes. On the astral plane, the elementals representative of fire are salamanders and the tarot suit carrying its symbolism is that of wands.

Water rules all the emotions, whether those of love or anger, pure bliss or deep grief. Its thoroughly feminine and somewhat phlegmatic character make it receptive and easily impressed by external influences. The water's realm is that of the subconscious, the soul, and is populated by elementals called undines. People who naturally possess psychic powers are often believed to have a personality infused with its meditative and placid qualities, making them excellent healers too. Cancer, Scorpio and Pisces are water signs and cups (or chalices) represent the element in tarot.

Air presides over the intellect. Communication and clarity of mind are its main characteristics and, while they may occasionally tend to overthink, those born under the signs of Gemini, Libra and Aquarius will always be more inclined to assess a situation from an objective point of view instead of allowing to be guided (or misguided) by emotions. Air is the playground of new ideas, hopes and dreams and its creatures are sylphs. The swords denote this essentially sanguine element in tarot.

Earth as an element carries with it abundance and prosperity. Thoroughly stable, it enables fertility and its solid form gives it immense endurance. The prevalently melancholic nature can give people under its influence an overly cautious and somewhat conservative outlook but overall it is a positive, grounding force. In the astral realm, it is represented by gnomes and, in tarot, coins (also sometimes referred to as pentacles) are the symbols of earth. The element rules over the astrological signs of Taurus, Virgo and Capricorn.

Ideally, our personalities should possess a balance of all four classical elements, thus creating the fifth - Aether. Achieving the equilibrium can be a life-long journey but one that brings us closer to perfection and to being one with the universe.

Comments for The Four Elements

Average Rating starstarstarstarstar

Click here to add your own comments

Jul 30, 2017
Wise Words
by: Ian

I appreciate your contributions to this site. Thanks.

Click here to add your own comments

Join in and write your own page! It's easy to do. How? Simply click here to return to Astrology Articles.

Recent Articles and Updates

  1. Crystallomancy - Divination with Crystals

    Jun 21, 18 12:26 AM

    Some psychics can gaze into crystal balls, or points from a crystal cluster, to prophesize about your future or connect with departed souls. Crystallomancy scrying with a crystal is a superb tool for…

    Read More

  2. What is Clairsentience?

    Jun 19, 18 11:34 PM

    Do you get those unexplained tingles in the neck and head, or a sudden nauseous feeling when you meet someone new? This psychic ability is the foundation of the other ‘clairs’ – clairvoyance, clairaud…

    Read More

  3. Guide to After Life Communications (ALC)

    Jun 19, 18 09:29 PM

    We often have lingering questions and matters that were not settled while our deceased friends or family members were alive. Because the ties of our loving relationships are not severed after death yo…

    Read More

  4. What Is Clairaudience?

    Jun 19, 18 09:08 PM

    Have you ever had strange experiences that lead you to believe you just might be clairaudient? Until you gain discernment through practice, it’s difficult to sort out spiritual messages from your pers…

    Read More

  5. Aura Cleansing For Psychic Protection

    Jun 18, 18 05:52 PM

    Our auras are approximately six feet high and wide and we interact with everyone we pass by. Herein lays the phenomena of energy exchange. Learn to let go of other people’s stuff and prevent psychic a…

    Read More

  6. Fiverr Psychic Freelancing

    Jun 17, 18 10:29 PM

    Let’s demystify the process of getting your gigs noticed on Fiverr. Slip into the buyer’s moccasins for a moment. Visualize looking at hundreds of psychic gigs and getting more and more confused. The…

    Read More

  7. Aura Color Meaning Chart

    Jun 17, 18 08:39 PM

    Our auras are comprised of seven electromagnetic, entwined rings revealing a full spectrum of colors in light rings around us. And each hue seen by a psychic is subject to interpretation. Here is a fr…

    Read More

  8. How To See Auras

    Jun 17, 18 08:35 PM

    Thanks to Kirlian photography it is generally accepted that this energy field exists. However, unless you can see them, this knowledge is of no use to you. Low light, a certain distance and an angled…

    Read More