What Are The Four Elements In The Zodiac?

Ian Parkin is the verified author of this post.

Seen in astrology and tarot, what are the four elements and what do they mean? The tangible, physical reality we are surrounded by is known to be composed of well over a hundred chemical elements and numerous mixtures thereof.  Learn what Fire, Water, Air and Earth are revealing.

The higher, spiritual planes however are subject to slightly different rules and are believed to be in balance through the agency of four (somewhat opposed) elements - those of Fire, Water, Air and Earth.

Now widely used in Hermeticist teachings, astrology and tarot, they were first defined by philosophers and mystics of Ancient Greece.

The energy of each element carries with it a unique set of positive as well as negative influences and affects our lives and our inner being in different ways.

What are the four elements of Fire, Water, Air and Earth revealing in Astrology and TarotWhat are the four elements of Fire, Water, Air and Earth revealing in Astrology and Tarot

What Are The Four Elements And Their Meanings?

What The Element Of Fire Is Revealing

The Element Of Fire

Fire denotes strong will and energy, and a more masculine disposition.

The astrological signs under its rule - Aries, Leo and Sagittarius - all tend to possess a choleric temperament, being decisive and vigorous, uncommonly brave and assertive but also excessively passionate and quarrelsome. It is an element at once creative and destructive, igniting the spark of life but well capable of turning everything before it into ashes. On the astral plane, the elementals representative of fire are salamanders and the tarot suit carrying its symbolism is that of wands.

What The Element Of Water Is Revealing

The Element Of Water

Water rules all the emotions, whether those of love or anger, pure bliss or deep grief.

Its thoroughly feminine and somewhat phlegmatic character make it receptive and easily impressed by external influences. The water's realm is that of the subconscious, the soul, and is populated by elementals called undines. People who naturally possess psychic powers are often believed to have a personality infused with its meditative and placid qualities, making them excellent healers too. Cancer, Scorpio and Pisces are water signs and cups (or chalices) represent the element in tarot.

What The Element Of Air Is Revealing

The Element Of Water

Air presides over the intellect.

Communication and clarity of mind are its main characteristics and, while they may occasionally tend to overthink, those born under the signs of Gemini, Libra and Aquarius will always be more inclined to assess a situation from an objective point of view instead of allowing to be guided (or misguided) by emotions. Air is the playground of new ideas, hopes and dreams and its creatures are sylphs. The swords denote this essentially sanguine element in tarot.

What The Element Of Earth Is Revealing

The Element Of Earth

Earth as an element carries with it abundance and prosperity.

Thoroughly stable, it enables fertility and its solid form gives it immense endurance. The prevalently melancholic nature can give people under its influence an overly cautious and somewhat conservative outlook but overall it is a positive, grounding force. In the astral realm, it is represented by gnomes and, in tarot, coins (also sometimes referred to as pentacles) are the symbols of earth. The element rules over the astrological signs of Taurus, Virgo and Capricorn.

You might like these

The fifth element - Aether / Spirit

Using The Four Elements To Create A Fifth 
Ideally, our personalities should possess a balance of all four classical elements, thus creating the fifth element - Aether. Achieving the equilibrium can be a life-long journey but one that brings us closer to perfection and to being one with the universe. Learn more > >

Online Astrology Readings with 3 Free Min + 50% Off 

Masters in the ancient art of astrology, Kasamba's online astrologers use the signs of the zodiac and the positions of the sun, moon, and planets to chart your path to a life of love, laughter, and good fortune.  Get a free astrology reading online and get answers to your questions today!

  • Expert Astrology Love Matches Are Made In The Heavens

    Have you considered looking into astrology love matches for finding someone who understands you and loves you just for who you are? Finding the right person isn't impossible with the help of a psychic relationship expert who specializes soul mate reconnections.

  • The Five Elements Of Life & How To Be One With The Universe

    You can bring balance and oneness with the five elements of life. Using the four elements to create a fifth is an alchemical process for your soul. In transmuting four different forces into a whole new element you form a fully balanced whole.

  • How To Get A Love Compatibility Astrology Reading With An Expert

    When you ask a love compatibility astrology expert, knowing if this one is the right one is only a simple question away, but are you brave enough to ask? If not, try comparing the star signs of these famous relationship successes and failures for clues.

  • Expert Astrology Predictions That Will Help You Navigate Life

    Accurate astrology predictions can help you navigate life’s ups and downs. Your chart is the map. And what a map it is… telling you what to pack on board to make sure the journey is a smooth one, or to batten down the hatches and ride out the storm.

  • Free Astrology Predictions With The Most Helpful Information

    Whether reading free astrology predictions in the newspapers, or you get a personal chart prepared by an astrologer, or you choose your own zodiac sign from this list of horoscopes, my tips will help you get the most helpful information from your reports.

Instant Psychic Chat

What Are The Four Elements on Wiki?